//
you're reading...
Homework Assignments

K-Pop Academy Week 2 Homework: Cooking a Korean Dish – Yubu Kimbap (유부김밥)

Although I chose option 3 as my Week 2 homework, I also wanted to try out cooking Korean food, as I enjoyed making Dduk Bok Gi during Week 2’s cooking lesson.

I have always wanted to make Dduk Bok Gi. A while ago, I saw an episode of MTV Diary where T.K from C-Clown, made it for him and his members and a few days before the cooking lesson, I wanted to buy the ingredients and make it myself at home, but didn’t get a chance to. I was so delighted to have made it a few days later at the K-Pop Academy lesson.

Without further ado, here is how I made my chosen dish for homework assignment option 2:

Making Yubu Kimbap (유부김밥)

What is Kimbap?
Kimbap is a very popular dish and can be eaten at any time of day, as a snack. It is made from steamed white rice and other ingredients, rolled in kim/gim (sheets of dry seaweed). The fillings can be changed to people’s taste. For example, if someone is vegetarian, they can put tofu in it, instead of beef and chicken etc.

What is Yubu?
Pockets of soybean curd/deep-fried tofu.

I have had kimbap on many occasions when visiting the Kimchee To Go shop and Seoul Bakery and I love it so much, that when I finish eating it, I just want more. I have always wanted to make this dish and I have never made it before. I gave it a go and decided to use yubu as one of the fillings. I used two sheets of kim, and it was enough for me and my family.

I looked at many different websites for Kimbap recipes and I found maangchi.com and mykoreankitchen.com recipes for making kimbap very useful. I used a mixture of both recipes, took out some of the ingredients and added my own for my own preference.

Ingredients:

• For rice
o One small bag of steamed rice (I used a rice bag packet from a sushi-making box)
o ¼ tsp fine salt
o 1 tsp sesame oil
• For Yubu
o Deep fried tofu (yubu in Korean/ abura-age in Japanese)
o 2 Tbsp soy sauce
o 1 Tbsp sugar
• Carrots (2 medium sized), peeled
• Cucumber (half of one)
• 5 strips of yellow pickled radish (Danmuji)
• 2 Kim (seaweed sheets)
• 1 Tbsp sesame oil (To paste once you finish up rolling)

DSC01199

From top row to bottom (clockwise): Cucumber, rice bag, kim (sheets of seaweed), soy sauce, danmuji (pickled radish), bamboo sushi rolling mat, yubu (abura-age in Japanese) and carrots.
Method

Rice:
1. Place freshly made rice in a large, shallow bowl. Gently mix in ½ teaspoon salt and 2 teaspoons sesame oil over top with a rice scoop or a wooden spoon.
2. Let it cool down enough so it’s no longer steaming. Cover and set aside.

Carrots:
1. Combine the carrot matchsticks ( that you cut beforehand) with ¼ teaspoon salt. Mix well and let it sweat for 5 to 10 minutes. Heat a pan and add a few drops of vegetable oil.
2. Squeeze out excess water from the carrot, then saute for about 1 minute.

For Yubu:
In a large pot, boil some water. Once the water starts to boil, add the Yubu into the pot and push it down with tongs a couple of times so that it soaks water. Boil it for 1-2 mins.
1. Drain water; rinse yubu in cold running water.
2. Squeeze water out from the yubu. Slice them thinly.
3. Heat the pan with some oil on high heat. Once heated, reduced the heat to medium then to low and add the yubu and seasoning ingredients as listed. Stir them thoroughly so that the seasoning gets distributed evenly.
4. Turn the heat off and put the yubu onto a plate.

DSC01201

Rolling kimbap:
1. Place one sheet of kim on a bamboo mat with the shiny side down. Spread the cooked rice evenly on top of it, leaving about 2 inches uncovered on one side of the kim.

DSC01205
2. Place the yubu, carrot, yellow pickled radish strips, cucumber strips in the centre of the rice.

DSC01206
3. Use both hands to roll the mat (along with kim and rice) over the fillings, so one edge of the rice and kim reaches the opposite edge. This makes the fillings in the roll to come to the centre.
4. Grab the mat with both hands and press it tightly as you continue rolling the kimbap. Push out the mat as you roll, so it doesn’t get wrapped into the kimbap.
5. Remove the completed kimbap roll from the mat and set the finished roll aside with the seam down.

DSC01208
6. Repeat for the other seaweed sheet to make another roll.
7. Put some sesame oil on the finished rolls and sprinkle some sesame seeds over top, if you wish. Cut each roll into bite size pieces with a sharp knife.

DSC01209
8. Put it on a plate and serve.

DSC01215DSC01219

My family tried the dish and said it was very tasty and something different from what they’ve tried before. They also liked the yubu very much, so they had it on its own aswell.

In the future, I would like to make other dishes aswell, such as bibimbap etc~

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

